African Association of
Remote Sensing of the Environment


AARSE governance consists of the Executive Council and a Board of Trustees.

Executive Council




Prof. Olajide Kufoniyi
Professor of Geoinformatics
Department of Geography
Obafemi Awolowo University
Ile-Ife, Nigeria

Tel: +234-8037251141


Curriculum vitae

Immediate Past President:

Dr. Tsehaie Woldai

Visiting Professor

School of Geosciences,

University of the Witwatersrand Johannesburg

PBag 3x WITS 2050

Johannesburg, South Africa

Tel: (+31)-53-4769750



Secretary General:

Prof. Kamal Labbassi

Chouaib Doukkali University,

B.P: 20, El Jadida, Morocco

Tel: +212 6 63 10 73 71;

Fax: +2125 23 34 21 87


Curriculum vitae

Immediate Past Secretary General: Prof. Harold Annegarn
Department of Geography, Environmental Sciences,
North West University,
Potchefstroom, South Africa.
3 Dover Road
Tel: +27 83 628 4210



Dr. Sias Mostert


SCS Aerospace Group
3rd Floor St Andrews Building

Somerset Links Office Park

De Beers Avenue

Somerset West

South Africa
Tel: +27 21 300 0060
Fax: +27 21 300 0064

Curriculum vitae

Communications Officer:


Dr. Souleye Wade

10174 Sacre Cœur 3VDN Dakar,


Tel: +221 77 579 41 47
Skype: souleye.wade

Bio- english

Bio- french

Councillor (North Africa):


Prof. Islam Abou El-Magd

Head of Environmental  Studies Dept. 

National Authority for Remote Sensing

and Space Sciences (NARSS)

International Affairs Coordinator

Member of the Space Council of Egypt

23 Josef Tito St., El-Nozha El-Gedida, 

P.O.Box 1564, Cairo, Egypt

Tel: +2 02 2625 1286 (D)

Fax: +2 2622 5800

Curriculum vitae

Councillor (West Africa):

Mr. Mahamadou S. Keita
Regional Centre for Training in Aerospace 

Surveys (RECTAS)
P.M.B. 5545
Obafemi Awolowo University Campus
Ile-Ife, Nigeria

Councillor (Southern Africa):


Ms. Bulelwa Semoli
Rural Development and Land Reform
Chief Directorate: National Geospatial

Postal: Private Bag X10, Mowbray,

Physical address: Van Der Sterr Building, 

Rhodes Avenue, Mowbray, Cape Town,
Tel: +27(21) 658 4300, fax 086 1234 681
Cell: +27 82 3794 787


Curriculum vitae


Councillor (East Africa):

Dr. Yazidhi Bamutaze
Department of Geography, Geo-information and Climatic Science, 

Makerere University,
P.O. Box 7062, Kampala, Uganda
Tel: +256 772 696 751, +256 712 696 751, 

+256 702 696 751, +256 414 531 261

 Councillor (Central Africa):  Position vacant

Board of Trustees

Prof. Olajide Kufoniyi
Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria

Dr. Tsehaie Woldai
University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

Prof. Harold Annegarn
North West University, Potchefstroom

Prof. Sias Mostert
SCS Aerospace Group, Somerset West, South Africa

Dr. Peter Zeil
Univ of Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria

  This site is managed by Space 4 Development
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management